Saturday, June 26, 2010

What Is Kundalini

What Is Kundalini Cover Many people, inexperienced and experienced alike, in the Pagan Community are new to the word Kundalini and what it means to us. When I refer to Kundalini in a course of teaching or discussion, inevitably, there are several who are either completely unfamiliar or uncertain about the definition and purpose of this amazing force. The information I am presenting here is not at all exhaustive but meant to help others to begin to understand the origin and context of Kundalini and how it applies to Pagan practice.

Before one can truly grasp the concept of Kundalini energy, one must understand the Basic Concepts of Chakras, Meridians, and Circuits. The Chakras are comprised of literally thousands of energy centers within the body which are commonly used in acupuncture or acupressure techniques. The meridians are pathways which connect all these energy points or Plexi. When there is a buildup of excess energy in a Chakra the Meridians also become overcharged and like a circuit breaker both will cease to function. The Circuits are basically the different wiring systems connected to the Chakra energy centers via the Meridians.

Chakras are the precise points where the spirit body attaches to the physical form. Most people are most familiar with the seven major Chakras. The seven major Chakras are really comprised of several smaller chakras and meridians. Beginning with the first the Chakras are as follows: The Root Chakra or Muladhara, The Sacral Chakra or Swadhisthana, The Solar Chakra or Manipura, The Heart Chakra or Anahata, The Throat Chakra or Vishuddha, The Brow Chakra or Ajna, and The Crown Chakra or Sahasrara. These all link to the Seven Spheres of Existance and the Seven Bodies.

The Root Chakra relates to Earth, Sacral to Water, Solar to Fire, Heart to Air, Throat to Life, Brow to Time and the Crown to Space. In addition the Root is connected to the prostate in males and the paraurethral gland in females or endocrine glands and the forces of survival and security. The Sacral relates to testes in males and ovaries in females and the powers of sexuality and emotion. The Solar Chakra corresponds to navel, the adrenal glands, and solar plexus and the powers of energy assimilation and digestion. The Heart Chakra is related to both the heart and lungs and the thymus or immune system and also governs well being, equilibrium and love. The Throat Chakra corresponds to the throat and thyroid and relates to growth, expression and communication. The Brow Chakra links to the pineal gland and third eye, and relates to light, time and awareness. Finally, the Crown Chakra corresponds to the central nervous system through the hypothalamus and the crown of the head and it relates us to all Consciousness and is Master over all other chakras.

The Seven Planes of Existence related to the Seven Major Chakras are as follows:

ROOT: Physical Plane – Red
SACRAL: Emotional Plane – Orange
SOLAR: Mental Plane – Yellow
HEART: Astral Plane – Green
THROAT: Soular or Egoic Plane – Pale Blue
BROW: Monadic Plane – Dark Blue
CROWN: Divine Plane – Violet

Free eBooks (Can Be Downloaded):

Tom Peete Cross - Witchcraft In North Carolina
Stephen Mcnallen - What Is Asatru
Arthur Edward Waite - What Is Alchemy